Turmeric – Contemporary applications in medicine

Turmeric exemplifies an herb for which clinical applications have evolved over time. Until recently, this perennial herb, widely cultivated in tropical regions of Asia, particularly in India, was valued primarily as a commercial item for imparting a lively yellow color and also as a part of most curry powders. In India, the Bengal kind of Turmeric is preferred for dyeing purposes, and the Madras kind is preferred for flavouring purposes. The long established image of turmeric as a commercial dyestuff and component of curry 6 was partly responsible for overshadowing its importance as a medicinal herb. The significance of turmeric in medicine has changed considerably since the discovery of the anti-oxidant properties of naturally occurring phenolic compounds.. The same ground dried rhizome of Curcuma longa, which has been used for centuries as a spice, food preservative and a coloring agent, has been found a rich source of phenolic compounds or curcuminoids. Curcuminoids refers to a group of phenolics present in turmeric, which are chemically related to its principal ingredient, curcumin. Three main curcuminoids were isolated from turmeric: curcumin, demethoxycurcumin and bisdemethoxycurcumin. All three impart the hallmark yellow pigmentation to Curcuma longa plant, and particularly to its rhizomae.

Although the chemical structure of curcumin was determined by Lampe in 1910, it was only in the seventies and eighties that the potential uses of curcuminoid compounds in medicine have been studied. The ongoing laboratory and clinical research indicates that turmeric and its phenolics have unique anti-oxidant properties 8,10,11,12,13,14. These interesting findings on curcuminoids, as well as concerns over toxicity of synthetic phenolic antioxidants such as butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) and butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA), have further stimulated interest in natural phenolics for medicinal and food applications. © Sabinsa Corporation 2000

36 thoughts on “Turmeric – Contemporary applications in medicine

  1. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I think that you ought to publish more about this topic, it
    might not be a taboo matter but generally people do not speak
    about such topics. To the next! All the best!!

  2. Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog
    from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through
    your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great
    work!

  3. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your
    useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  4. Great goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff prior to and you are just extremely excellent.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like
    what you are stating and the best way through which you are saying it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep
    it sensible. I cant wait to learn far more from you. That is really a terrific site.

  5. I am now not certain the place you’re getting your info, however good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or figuring out more. Thank you for magnificent info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission. fgkddbaeegke

  6. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

  7. I blog quite often and I seriously appreciate your information. This article has truly peaked my interest.
    I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your Feed as well.

  8. Hi! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My blog looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to
    correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Appreciate it!

  9. Thanks for some other wonderful post. The place
    else could anyone get that type of info in such an ideal approach
    of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m at
    the look for such info.

  10. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but
    after checking through some of the post
    I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking
    and checking back often!

  11. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came
    to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m
    bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Excellent blog and terrific style and design.

  12. Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair price?

    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  13. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much.

    I was looking for this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and goood luck.

  14. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article.
    But wanna remark on some general things, The website style
    is wonderful, the articles is really nice : D. Good job,
    cheers

  15. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even
    I achievement you access consistently fast.

  16. naturally like your web site however you have to take a look at the spelling on several
    of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to inform
    the truth however I will surely come again again.

  17. I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on
    my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  18. Thank you for any other informative web site.Where else may I
    am getting that kind oof info written in such an ideal way?
    I’ve a venture that I am simply now working on, and I’ve been at the look out for such information.

  19. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort
    of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this
    site. Studying this info So i am happy to exhibit that I’ve an
    incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly
    what I needed. I so much undoubtedly will make certain to do not put out of your mind this website and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

